Bonjour, je suis Thierry Warin, professeur de science des données pour les transformations globales à HEC Montréal, chercheur principal du thème Économie mondiale au CIRANO et PDG de nüance-R. Je suis diplômé du Harvard Business Analytics Program (HBAP 2020) et docteur de l’Essec Business School (2000).

Recherche

Mes recherches portent principalement sur la science des données pour l’étude des transformations mondiales, vue à travers deux dimensions principales : (1) les changements géographiques, et (2) les changements technologiques. Ces deux dimensions sont fortement liées. J’utilise la science des données (SIG, R, Python et Julia) pour étudier l’innovation, les institutions, les réglementations et les dynamiques économiques. Je me sens plus confiant dans la connaissance des nouvelles méthodes lorsque je parle de leurs impacts sur nos sociétés (voir certains de mes projets de codage ici). Je m’intéresse en particulier à l’exploitation des données non structurées par le biais du traitement automatique des langues. Voir en particulier mes Publications, Recherches financées, et mes Doctorants

Activités commerciales

PDG de nüance-R, j’ai développé une plateforme technologique de pointe pour la recherche et l’éducation en science des données, qui soutient mes propres recherches et enseignements ainsi que ceux de mes étudiants. Chez quantum simulations*, une startup edtech, incubée et détenue par nüance-R, nous développons des simulations basées sur la science des données pour l’éducation et la formation professionnelle.

Activités philanthropiques

Je suis le président fondateur de edhaiti, une ONG que j’ai créée en 2011 après une mission en Haïti pour la Banque interaméricaine de développement suite au terrible séisme de 2010. Au début de la pandémie de Covid-19, j’ai également créé les projets maclasseenligne.org et Humanités numériques (voir le menu EdTech).

Thierry Warin, PhD


Bonjour, je suis Thierry Warin, professeur de science des données pour les transformations globales à HEC Montréal, chercheur principal du thème Économie mondiale au CIRANO et PDG de nüance-R. Je suis diplômé du Harvard Business Analytics Program (HBAP 2020) et docteur de l’Essec Business School (2000).

Recherche

Mes recherches portent principalement sur la science des données pour l’étude des transformations mondiales, vue à travers deux dimensions principales : (1) les changements géographiques, et (2) les changements technologiques. Ces deux dimensions sont fortement liées. J’utilise la science des données (SIG, R, Python et Julia) pour étudier l’innovation, les institutions, les réglementations et les dynamiques économiques. Je me sens plus confiant dans la connaissance des nouvelles méthodes lorsque je parle de leurs impacts sur nos sociétés (voir certains de mes projets de codage ici). Je m’intéresse en particulier à l’exploitation des données non structurées par le biais du traitement automatique des langues. Voir en particulier mes Publications, Recherches financées, et mes Doctorants

Activités commerciales

PDG de nüance-R, j’ai développé une plateforme technologique de pointe pour la recherche et l’éducation en science des données, qui soutient mes propres recherches et enseignements ainsi que ceux de mes étudiants. Chez quantum simulations*, une startup edtech, incubée et détenue par nüance-R, nous développons des simulations basées sur la science des données pour l’éducation et la formation professionnelle.

Activités philanthropiques

Je suis le président fondateur de edhaiti, une ONG que j’ai créée en 2011 après une mission en Haïti pour la Banque interaméricaine de développement suite au terrible séisme de 2010. Au début de la pandémie de Covid-19, j’ai également créé les projets maclasseenligne.org et Humanités numériques (voir le menu EdTech).

Hi! I’m Thierry Warin, Professor of Data Science for Global Transformations at HEC Montreal, principal investigator of the World Economy theme at CIRANO and CEO of nüance-R. I am a graduate of the Harvard Business Analytics Program (HBAP 2020) and PhD from Essec Business School (2000).

Research

My research is primarily about Data Science for the study of Global Transformations, seen through two main dimensions: (1) the geographic changes, and (2) the technological changes. Both dimensions are strongly related. I use Data Science (GIS, R, Python and Julia) to study innovation, institutions, regulations and economic dynamics. I feel more confident knowing the new methods when I speak about their impacts on our societies (see some of my coding projects here). My interest is in particular in leveraging unstructured data through NLP. See in particular my Publications, Funded research, and my PhD students. I have put together a platform (full of code!) for my own research lab.nuance-r.com.

Teaching

I’m currently teaching the following courses:

Visit my courses to have a look at my other and past courses and some pedagogical innovations. I have put together another platform (also full of code!) for my students lab.warin.ca as well as a data platform Mondo international.

Business activities

CEO of nüance-R, I developed a cutting-edge technological platform for research and education in Data Science, which supports my own research and teaching as well as my students’. At quantum simulations*, an edtech startup, incubated and owned by nüance-R, we develop data science-based simulations for education and professional training.

Philanthropic activities

I am the founding president of edhaiti, an NGO I started in 2011 after a mission in Haïti for the Inter American Development Bank following the terrible 2010 earthquake. At the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic, I also created the maclasseenligne.org and Humanités numériques projects (see the EdTech menu).

Thierry Warin, PhD


Hi! I’m Thierry Warin, Professor of Data Science for Global Transformations at HEC Montreal, principal investigator of the World Economy theme at CIRANO and CEO of nüance-R. I am a graduate of the Harvard Business Analytics Program (HBAP 2020) and PhD from Essec Business School (2000).

Research

My research is primarily about Data Science for the study of Global Transformations, seen through two main dimensions: (1) the geographic changes, and (2) the technological changes. Both dimensions are strongly related. I use Data Science (GIS, R, Python and Julia) to study innovation, institutions, regulations and economic dynamics. I feel more confident knowing the new methods when I speak about their impacts on our societies (see some of my coding projects here). My interest is in particular in leveraging unstructured data through NLP. See in particular my Publications, Funded research, and my PhD students. I have put together a platform (full of code!) for my own research lab.nuance-r.com.

Teaching

I’m currently teaching the following courses:

Visit my courses to have a look at my other and past courses and some pedagogical innovations. I have put together another platform (also full of code!) for my students lab.warin.ca as well as a data platform Mondo international.

Business activities

CEO of nüance-R, I developed a cutting-edge technological platform for research and education in Data Science, which supports my own research and teaching as well as my students’. At quantum simulations*, an edtech startup, incubated and owned by nüance-R, we develop data science-based simulations for education and professional training.

Philanthropic activities

I am the founding president of edhaiti, an NGO I started in 2011 after a mission in Haïti for the Inter American Development Bank following the terrible 2010 earthquake. At the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic, I also created the maclasseenligne.org and Humanités numériques projects (see the EdTech menu).